Expert Panel

Forums Home > Transitioned Military Officer > Ask an Expert > Declining Promotion and Details Concerning Execution
Comments have been closed for this topic.
Replies for Declining Promotion and Details Concerning Execution

Operations, Logistics & Engineering
js

Hello All. I write searching for insight from anyone who has knowledge concerning declining active duty promotion from paygrade O3 to paygrade O4. I'm an Active Duty Navy Officer at the grade of Lieutenant (O3) currently in zone for an upcoming promotion board this year. I understand this decision to be a "career killer" but that is about all I can find on the matter. I desire to leave the service in the next few years so the "military career killer" threat (that I continue to hear from my peers and senior officers and read about online) doesn't bother me. I've served honorably and completed multiple deployments over an eight year period in multiple regions around the world. I see separation in my early to mid-30's as an absolute positive springboard to greater opportunities as a civilian that will allow me to be with family and establish myself as an asset and resource in the business community back home. I'll likely be promoted in 2014, as I've been "looked at" below zone during the past two years. I've met every single requirement for promotion and have nothing in my record to prevent it. Concerning navigation of the bureaucracy in declining a promotion when presented a promotion acceptance letter, what should I expect if I check "decline" on the promotion acceptance letter? It should be noted that I have accepted additional obligatory service by executing orders for postgraduate education while on active duty, and the time will not have been paid back at the time I'll be offered promotion to O4. Please note at the time I accepted the orders I completely intended to stay in the military until 20 years, but have realized since that is not the path I'm supposed to take. Does anyone here have f